My good friend, and homemate just reinvented his blog, Vulgar Theology. Head over and check it out. He’s got some really provocative stuff. Here’s an excerpt explaining the framework for the blog:

‘Why vulgar theology’? If you came here because you love vulgarity, then you already know why, If you came here because you don’t understand why, then hopefully my answer to that question will piss you off, its about my history, more immediately though it has to do with being present in a church tradition, being a Christian–and all the bullshit that comes attached to that framework. If you label me a hypocrite then this site is for you. By the way, I am a hypocrite.

I seek to bring vulgarity in every format back into my tradition, to bathe myself in the filth of my kin and ancestors, and by doing so remember grace, mercy, and love for the other.

He’s had some pretty strong reactions thus far, which is to be expected. Personally, I’m excited to see where it goes and how it develops. While some criticize the method for being to edgy and provocative, I think he may be on to something. Embracing those with vastly different experiences enriches our spiritual experience. Perhaps reclaiming the vulgar does not defile our culture but rather rejuvenates it.

