Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The tangential debate about the alcohol policy at our school has caused me to reflect on my time as a student leader. For violating this or a number of other policies, I could have been fired from my job and face disciplinary action. Students who are not “student leaders” were subject to disciplinary action, but wouldn’t lose their on-campus job for it. I was held to a higher standard because of my position of leadership.

Was that a fair policy? Should we hold leaders to a higher standard?

Obviously leaders make mistakes. I think it is naive to believe otherwise. My opinion is that we should not hold leaders to a higher standard. In my opinion this only creates a culture of deception and fear. Leaders fear being honest about their shortcomings because of the intensified punishment they may receive. Now, I’m not advocating that we give leaders a get out of jail free card. I expect that leaders should take responsibility for their actions and accept the consequences and repercussions of their actions, just like anyone else. But I don’t think we should hold them to a higher standard.

I think holding them to the same standard as everyone else encourages honesty and integrity in leaders. God knows we need that.

