Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So… it was Saturday night, and Dave and I sat despairing in the kitchen. The pantry was full of the same stuff we always eat, and we were both tired of it. “Ugh,” he lamented. “I’m tired of the same meal every day!” I agreed.

Then the breakthrough happened. “Oh, I forgot I had this pesto,” he said. I suddenly remembered the baby portobellos I got at the grocery earlier that day. And we were off.

While I was sauteing the mushrooms and chopped onions in a bit of wine, Dave started toasting bread, then topping it with cheddar and sticking it under the broiler for a few minutes to melt the cheese. Once the bread was ready, we spread the pesto on the un-cheesed pieces, shoveled on the mushrooms, and topped them with mixed greens.

Two sandwiches each with a bunch of grapes between them on the plate… and we had a dinner fit for royalty.

It was freaking delicious.

