Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last night I made my first batch of svařak (Czech mulled wine). It was pretty decent. I checked out several recipes and landed on this one. I used this one because it didn’t call for brandy, which I don’t have. As it turns out, I may try to keep some on hand for the next time I make it. The svařak was good, but you could tell it had a low alcohol content. But from a flavor standpoint, it was spot on. It makes me miss home. Nothing warms you up better after wandering around Old Town Prague for two hours in sub-zero temperature than a steaming cup of svařak.

Svařak (Czech mulled wine):

  • 1-2 sticks of cinnamon
  • 8-10 cloves, crushed
  • 4-6 allspice pods, crushed
  • 4T honey
  • 2 bottles of red wine (I used Merlot, but I think Cabernet might be better)
  • 1c water

Boil the water and steepe the spices for 10-15 minutes. Add a bit more water if it reduces too much. Stir in honey after the spices have had some time to steepe. Add the wine and experiment with the correct amount of brandy. Warm the mixture, but do not boil. Strain while serving.

