Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I suppose this is a bizarre post for a strong critic of both Barack Obama and nationalism, but I’m proud of America for electing a black president. I think it’s a symbolic step in shaking off bullshit racist ideas which pervade our culture.

Understand, I’m not saying that racism isn’t a problem. It’s a huge and horrible problem. The concept of white superiority has gripped our culture since Christopher Columbus’ genocide in the Caribbean. Such deeply entrenched mindsets don’t dissipate overnight. The obvious gaps in opportunities between whites and minorities demonstrate that racism is still a serious issue in the U.S. today.

That said, I believe this is a historic, landmark moment. Less than 150 years ago, slavery was legal in the U.S. Less than 50 years go, black people couldn’t vote. Heck, my dad remembers busing. I’m sure my grandfather can remember segregated drinking fountains. These dark spots on our history are not ancient events recorded in dusty volumes. They are etched in the memories of people alive today.

We have come a long way in our journey of racial reconciliation. We still have a long way to go. May yesterday’s historic events encourage us and give us strength to continue this journey.

Today, America, I’m proud of you.

