Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

First, a little photoshop fun. I call this Che Davora:

Back to reality, though, I’m not sure what to think of Che. He’s hailed as this iconic revolutionary savior. His face is on more T-shirt than almost anyone in the world, up there with Jesus (because we have his picture) and the Pope. Motorcycle Diaries even inspired two of my roommates to walk to D.C. this summer. I was inspired by the movie, too. He had passion. He fought for those who have no voice and valued individuals over societal norms. That is certainly respectable.

And yet, I hear a dissenting opinion which causes me to question the idiolized faces that stare resolutely from the T-shirts. Perhaps he got disillusioned after years of struggle. There is no denying the fact that he summarily executed dozens of innocent people. I don’t personally know any Cuban Americans, but several of my friends do. The picture that they paint of Che does not resemble the heroic altruistic figure that is often portrayed.

I’m interested to hear what others think about Che. Do you love him or hate him? Were his ideas revolutionary, or did the atrocities he committed negate their validity?

