Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve found myself immersed in a significant deal of controversy and conversation lately centered around the issue of gender inequality. Between the falsely-reported rape on campus, the ramifications of that incident and conversations with my sister and others whom I love and respect, I’ve been rather inundated with opportunities to learn.

The past few weeks have reminded me of the importance of listening. Sure, I can read and talk about feminist ideologies. I can scrutinize my own actions to guard against sexist behaviors. But, I think the most important thing I can do in trying to understand the issue is simply to listen.

So I’m making a conscious effort to listen more

Admitting the inequality is necessary. Acting against the inequality is necessary. But first, I must listen. In the midst of it, I must listen. Afterward, I must listen.

